How to Get Here



The CiLOG 2014 will be held in the State of Mexico.

The State of Mexico, officially the Free and Sovereign State of Mexico, is one of the 31 states which, with the Federal District, comprise the 32 federal entities of the United Mexican States. It is the most populous, as well as the densest in population. It is divided into 125 municipalities and its capital city is Toluca de Lerdo.

The State of Mexico is often abbreviated to "Edomex" from Estado de México in Spanish. It is located in South-Central Mexico. It is bordered by the states of Querétaro and Hidalgo to the north, Morelos and Guerrero to the south, Michoacán to the west, Tlaxcala and Puebla to the east and surrounds the Federal District.

The state’s origins are in the territory of the Aztec Empire, which remained a political division of New Spain during the colonial period. After Independence, Mexico City was chosen as the capital of the new nation; its territory was separated out of the state. Years later, parts of the state were broken off to form the states of Hidalgo, Guerrero and Morelos. These territorial separations have left the state with the size and shape it has today, with the Toluca Valley to the west of Mexico City and a panhandle that extends around the north and east of this entity.

The name of the state is simply México according to the Political Constitution of the Mexican United States of 1917, but to distinguish it from both the city and the country it is most often called Estado de México. The demonym used to refer to people and things from the state is mexiquense, to distinguish it from the proper one, mexicano "mexican", that describes the people born in the country as a whole.


The state contains 9,723 km of highways with about 90% being state and 10% federal. There are 1227.4 km of rail line and two airports, “Lic. Adolfo López Mateos” in Toluca and “Dr. Jorge Jiménez Cantú” in Atizapán de Zaragoza. Helicopter facilities exist in Chimalhuacán and Jocotitlán.

The Ferrocarriles Suburbanos is a commuter rail line that connects downtown Mexico City with northern Mexico State municipalities. Service began operations in 2008 with the Buenavista Lechería line. The Buenavista-Cuauhtitlan line was inaugurated in 2009, bringing the total rail ine to 27 km serving communities such as Tultitlán, San Rafael, Tlanepantla and others.

The state contains 23 radio stations, 29 television station ( 2 local and 27 affiliates). The state sponsors two stations called “Radio Mexiquense” and “Televisión Mexiquense”.


Powered by Hermes Cedillo